The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Roden Albatros D.III (OAW)

wackyracer

Hi

Here's my entry into the GB. I've never done a GB before, or even posted builds online, so in at the deep end!

Got the Eduard PE set and some Montex Masks as I had a nightmare with my Fokker F.I decals previous.

20131215_105447.jpg

Not sure what markings yet. Rather drawn to the box art of Joesef Loeser's candy machine but also like the 2 options from Montex.

• Like 2

Great subject! Count me in as well. No better way to help finish a particular model than to join a group build. Not only will you get all the help you need from others building in the group, but it keeps you motivated. :)

• 2 weeks later...

First update on the build. Engine and framework built.

_D308505.jpg

Fuel tank and ammo cells with first bits of Eduard PE

_D308511.jpg

And scratch built the rocker arm springs from various sizes of wire as they are non existent bar a plastic blob on original

_D308510.jpg

Filled the ejector pin holes on the insides of the fuselage of which there were many. Next step wood graining.

Oh and received these in the post

20131221_155648.jpg

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

More progress...

Spads done

20140105_193258.jpg

Exhaust drilled out and painted

_D308529.jpg

_D308528.jpg

Wings cleaned up, primed with Halfords white plastic primer and masked up, yup, decision made, its going to be Oblt. Josef Loeser candy striped bird

20140104_181700.jpg

Top and bottom painted, insignia done with Montex masks (first time using them and very impressed and easy to do)

_D308559.jpg

With the overall white and red scheme I missed pre-shading as both colours are notoriously transparent and will have to work a way to post shade and weather. Not sure just how yet but something to work on.

Aaron

• Like 3

• 3 weeks later...

Only a small update this time...