The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Revell 1/32 Hurricane llb. Finishing touches.

• Administrators

I received this from Hannants a few weeks ago, and have been looking at it to see how it seems.  
This kit has a TON of detail, and while I’m not a Hurricane expert, I know enough about them to know that it was a truly remarkable aircraft, being almost the British version of the P-40:  extremely underappreciated, produced from the very first day of the war, fight up to the very end, served in every single theatre of operation in the war, and punched way, way above its weight. 
It was a tough little bird, capable of absorbing an extremely large amount of damage and still hold together, and it also packed a big wallop with 8 guns, and later with four 20mm cannon.

The new Revell kit really looks like a winner, so far 

472E757A-DD54-4DF3-A219-53F6496DDEB1.jpeg

• Like 8

• Administrators

One thing that is nice about Revell kits is that the Germans have finally learned how to produce a very nice instruction book. Even 5 or 6 years ago, Revell was still giving us that old Revell loose leaf look for the 60s and 70s that looked like they had been drawn by a toddler with a box of Crayola crayons  a and copied on an old ink copy paper manual roller machine. 
Revell, like ICM, give us NO PE in the kit whatsoever, and no seatbelts. The builder will need to source a Sutton harness for this kit. 

• Like 4

• Administrators

The instrument panel is made up of decals, and I absolutely don’t like the look.  It looks “juvenile”.  I’d have used 3D decals, but the kit is so new, there’s nothing out there yet.

Visibility in the pit is so-so, but so far this panel is the weakest part of the kit yet, so after seeing if it’ll be better installed, I just pulled it, stripped off the decals, and am attacking it with AirScale instruments. 
The panel, in my eye, looks incredibly simplistic, crazy stark, and stupidly idiotic.

Like it belongs on a Disney kid’s ride.