The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Eduard 1/48 Harrier GR.9

Peterpools

Eduard 1/48 Harrier GR.7/9

Limited Edition

Harrier GR.7 ZD 464/54, 20 (R) Squadron

RAF RAF Wittering Air base, 2002

For the most part I'm a large scale builder but starting working in 48th scale as a change of pace for a variety of reasons: subject, time and space. So before tackling my next 32nd scale subject, I've wanted to add Harrier to the collection and with the Eduard kit in the stash, it was a no brainer.

I normally start build threads with the customary photos and what ever AM will be added. For the Harrier, I just dove in and didn't take any photographs until the fuselage was assembled, as I wasn't really sure I was actually going to do a build thread. My apologies for being so indecisive.

The value of the Eduard Edition as compared the Hasegawa kit, which is the backbone of this edition is all the PE, some resin and beautiful Cartograf decals included to bring the kit closer to today's kits. When it comes to the actual plastic: Hasegawa's is my favorite! Please excuse the photography as I'm not use to photographing kits smaller then 32nd scale. .

As per the instructions, all the raised details for the front office were removed and everything was replaced with Eduard's color PE. The IP was done with Micro Krystal Kleer instead of CCA as the rest of the office PE. The ejection seat is the resin replaced version, with some PE for the belts and placard: quite nice indeed. The seat was dry brushed with Apple Barrel Dove Gray Acrylic paint I've had for close to 30 years and does the job so very well.

Assembly to this point has been straight forward with the fit pretty good with only a bit of sanding and filler needed. Being a newbie to the Harrier, some of the part placement was a bit strange and a lot of external PE will be added just before priming, as I know I'll knock off most of it if added sooner.