The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

M4A3 (76)W Sherman

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting a project on line. I thought I would share my build and hopefully get some feedback and suggestion.  Always looking to improve my modelling.  So here I go.

Going to be building the 1/35 M4A3 (76)W Sherman by Asuka.  I wanted to try one as I have heard they are the best around.  Two days after I got it I found Meng is coming out with the same one.  I did not see a release date but from the sounds of it, it will be similar to the Asuka kit.  Looking forward to see the reviews of it.

Other than the kit I have the following after market items:

Def Model 76mm M1A1C barrel

Def Model M4 basic detail set

Eduard M4A3 Sherman set

Archer M4A3 casting symbols

Def Model Wooden ration box letter decal set

Def Model Ammunition box letter decal set

Quick Wheel Sherman -Tasca set

I have starting putting it together.  Completed putting together the tub and the differential housing. 

A couple pictures but hope to do some more work today.

IMG_0189.jpg

IMG_0184.jpg

• Like 5

Welcome aboard to LSM the friendly side of modelling forums. Great first project, as a complete Shermanolic the Asuka / Tasca Sherman’s are beautiful to build. I built their Firefly, good thing lots of spares to go into the stash. Once the Sherman bug bites, I’m up to seven now. Looking forward to see how the Eduard AM works....

• Like 4

Did a little more work. Cleaned up the wheels and individual suspension parts. 

Trying to decide two things and want to see what others think

first is the type of wheels. I was thinking of using one dish style. Figuring the actual tanks had damaged ones and would replace with whatever was available

Second, should I add the small bolts around the outer part of the wheel.  I put two on one of the wheels (the white bits in the wheel)

67BAFAC3-773A-44A1-9A16-C7D3D4ABC035.jpeg

1C573DFF-C7F8-4A55-B09C-CF0EC0D18B04.jpeg

• Like 6