The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends Aug 31, 2024 ×

Too much, too soon

lawman56

As some of you may, or may not, know, I purchased and started a WNW Albatros D.v that I plan to paint in Kissenberth's Jasta 16b markings. To make a long story short, I bought all kinds of neat doo-dads to doctor it up, to include Taurus' timing components, Masters Spandau, HGW details, and Old Propeller seat, exhaust and intake.

I was making decent headway when I ended up in the hospital undergoing by-pass surgery. Once I returned home, I found my meds were causing my fingers to swell, which, needless to say, caused me to shelf the project until recently.

Well, yesterday I took it back down, dusted it off, and took stock of where I was. I'm hoping to start on it again in the next week. This brought me to a realization. I had been trying to do too much, too soon.

Let me explain. I have never built a Wingnuts kit before. The Alby seemed a logical choice, since I wanted something fairly straight-forward, with enough rigging to learn with, yet not so much I'd become overwhelmed, such as a DH2. I was swayed by all the neat resin and PE stuff that I love to use in my armor builds, and here is where I made a mistake. When I first started building armor, I used what was in the box at first. As I built more armor kits, I started to learn what details I wanted, and which ones I didn't. I became better informed, my research became more in depth and I started planning exactly what I wanted to see in a finished model or diorama. Apparently my brain went to poo when I saw the Albatros. Not being used to such quality right out of the box, I immediately looked for ways to improve it. Guess what? I forgot the basic KISS principle.

Now that I've figured it out, as I start the project up again, I'll concentrate more on techniques like replicating wood grain in a propeller, (I'm still in awe of your work Bo), and attaching rigging and my home made turnbuckles.

• Like 3