The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Soldering Tips

rkranias

Rick,

I am not an expert on soldering but you may need to be very careful with the white metal. I do know there are several "grades" concerning melting point. Some may not withstand soldering temps. Try it first on a an un-needed part or a bit of sprue if possible.

Paul

• Administrators

If you are going to try and solder white metal, then I would try to add something to the metal parts to help sink the heat (take it away) before it damages them with the heat from the iron. Also use a flux paste which will quickly transfer heat and allow the solder to run. The paste means that your iron contact time will be minimal due to the heat dispersing through the joint quickly.

Hi Rick,

My name is Steve Naylor just joined the forum and noticed hat you need help with some soldering, this is one field I've had a lot of experience with. The best way of joining brass to white metal with solder is as follows, firstly use a suitable flux and tin the brass with any electrical type solder. Now to join the white metal to it you will need to have a low temperature soldering iron or better still a temperature controlled iron (it's worth getting one  if you haven't already as you can use it for brass and whitemetal ) You then need some low melt solder and your iron set at between 175 degrees and 200 degrees put a little flux on both parts put a little lowmelt solder on the tip of your iron and you will see it flow together.

This way you end up with a very strong joint the want come apart. If you use ordinary solder on white metal you may find your whitemetal melts in front of your eyes as whitemetal melts at 200 degrees and your normal electrical solder melts at 288 degrees.

I know this sounds complex but it's not honest.