The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Hi,

I'm new to the site so if I'm posting in the wrong spot please feel free to shift/delete post.

I have been a professional pattern/model maker for a few decades now and have worked with the likes of Brooklin Models, Corgi, Imprint Models etc. but this is a personal project and I hope it may be of interest to some. During the summer I will be building a full size Sopwith Camel replica fuselage/cockpit for use at showgrounds etc. and meantime I am working out the build system by making an eighth scale model based on original drawings. All built from scratch but for the (rather wonderful) Hasegawa Clerget engine kit.

The following pics show progress so far (I'm currently working on the pair of Vickers guns in brass and alluminium) and if there is any response I'll continue to post progress pics as and when they happen.

Sopwith%20fb%20Cover.jpg

• Like 1

The above pic shows the roughly beaten aluminium cowl and the chemiwood former. The cowl is mounted on a brass tube ring which is attached to a steel engine mount. The Vickers gun barrel casings have been formed from sheet around the mould seen in the foreground...a brass bar surrounded by pieces of welding rod.

Below is the cowl after final beating, filing and ploishing and a closer shot of the gun sleeve mounted on the brass barrel and casing turnings.

Sopwith%20fb2.JPG

• Like 1