The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Hello Everybody,

This is my first attempt with a WNW kit!  In fact, this project contains a number of firsts for me.  First serious aircraft model, first use of weathering on a model, first use of an airbrush, and I am sure a few more.

I have been slowly collecting WNW kits, and have finally decided to put one on the work bench.  The only way to learn is to do it right?  So I have chosen the Bristol F2.b Fighter as my first exercise in these great models.

b58057e6-b4b9-41e8-944f-02653572f545_zps

You can see in the photo, my usual modeling subjects, wooden boats.

I have made a decent start on the cockpit of the Bristol.  Wood grain was done with Tamiya buff as a base coat, with an oil wash in the middle, and Tamiya clear yellow on top.  A natural sponge was used to apply the oil wash.  The pilot's floor board was done with the help of a superb wood grain decal from Uschi van der Rosten.

Some weathering has been done already, with the help of some dark wash on the pilot's seat, fuel tank, and the observer's floor area. It should be noted that the missing instrument decal in the middle of the instrument panel has been lost due to my mishandling.  That blank white space will remain as a reminder of my mistake.

As I stated before this is all new to me, so let me know what you think!

IMG_1420_zpspdpctvzi.jpg

IMG_1426_zpsfavt97up.jpg

IMG_1430_zpsy8l5grq5.jpg

• Administrators

Hi Bombardier!

First of all, Welcome to LSM and WnW fans forum!! :)

Bold choose for your first WnW but all WnW are fantastic and modeller friendly! :)

and oof you go with a awesome start!!

Keep posting and sharing your work! 

Fran

• 2 weeks later...

Congratulations on the progress so far. This was also my first WNW kit. I detailed my experiences with it, in an article on Scale Plastic and Rail. It can be found by following this link if you are interested.