The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends Aug 31, 2024 ×

Recommend me some kits! Please :)

Guest styrenedemon

Guest styrenedemon

Ok, you crazies and your large scale madness has infected me. I'm having so much fun working on my Mustang that I feverishly anticipate building more LS stuff.

We have a show coming up and I'll be on a 32nd expidetion. The Tamiya Mk. IX Spit and their Zero are on the list...and a WNW kit if I find one that tickles me, but it's like the lotto...I don't know what the good deals are going to be, and I have little experience with what's out there in this scale...that isn't crap.

A list of subjects I'm inquiring about:

109 (the Drago Emil is the way to go, no?)

P-40 (I understand the trump kit is not so good...any other to watch for)

P-47 (see p-40)

Me 262

Bf 110 

Any WW2 Navy stuff (the ***cats, SBM, TBMs, etc etc...will wait for Tamiya Corsair)

P-38

What should I look for...in other words..what cherry 32nd kits are out there? feel free to offer suggestions for ANY kit you like or that is especially good.

Hi Demon.

109 E is dragon (Cyber Hobby) for sure.

P-40 Hasegawa

P-40 Trumpy or Hasegawa

Me 262 Trumpy

Bf 110 Dragon

The 190 E fron Dragon is fantastic (see Kojo build here on the forums.

Cheers,

Jamme

The only one I have done (on your list) is Trumpy's P-40. Wouldn't say it's no good. I enjoyed it. Only issue really is when it comes to accuracy...which has been mentioned in about every review, and typical for Trumpy. The only thing I really don't care for, with their kits is the way the control surfaces attach....so they can remain movable. I don't like moving parts, so I cut the little tab off (that's supposed to be glued in between wing halves) so I can install those parts later. (you'll see what I mean if you encounter one of their kits).

Far as I know, Dragon has the only "good" 110. The Revell is pretty typical, old school Revell.

Academy's F-18C and D are AMAZING!!!! built them both.

• Members