Playing in the Sandbox Group Build Sept 1, 2024 - Jn 1, 2025

Spitfire experts please!

Artful69

Hello ...

With the absence of a Do-17z and a Boulton Paul Defiant (in IM or Resin - in case some smart alec suggests Vac, paper or scratch building!) ... and - largely promted by research done to post on another thread elsewhere - my thoughts for a BoB Spitfire in 1/32 start to emerge ...

Mk.I & II options are acceptable (along with a & b variants of those). I know there's the Revell Mk.II on the way - but God only knows when thats getting here!

The re-released Mk.I from Revell (#00021 circa 2010) is readily available - and cheap ... a new canopy is needed (apparently) with a small dash of AM (office & wheels) and I'm told it will build up decently.

I'm no Spitfire expert, so please excuse me if I'm way off here - but can the Hobby Boss Mk.Vb be retrograded back to an earlier Mk.I or II 'b' ????

Rog smile.png

Thanks for the input guys ...

Yep, feedback is that the HB is a poor effort of a Mk.Vb at any rate. Lord only knows when the Revell new tool will get here! ... meanwhile the 2010 re-release scrubs up decently with AM I think ...

I may just wait!

Rog :)

I don't think its a bad kit... just poor research/mistakes, these mistakes could be address by getting someone in the know to have a look at the CAD work prior...

End of the day... It still looks like a Spitfire Vb!

Ok fellas ... again, thanks for the input ... the overwhelmingly, most simplistic option is to get the Revell/Hasegawa Mk.I ...

Which is what I did, today, from Canada (along with a rare-as-rocking-horse-poo Hasegawa FW190F-8 ... my original purchase) ...

The deal was: I could pay full price for the F-8 OR ... buy the second kit - the Spit and score 20% of the total price! ... basicly this amounted to an extra $14.65 CAD for the spit - or about $15.50 AUD! ... Not bad eh?

This is the re-released kit ... which will need a bit of AM (Canopy, Cockpit, Wheels ... Maybe Exhausts & Prop/Spinner)