The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Roland C.II Walfisch

DoDo

Hi all, 

I've decided to join the group build with my Roland C.II.

I'm a slow builder, so I hope I make the deadline. :-)

I've tried to emphasize the wickelrumpf with some washes and MIG filters. It's quite rough, but the effect should be somewhat overstated because most of it will be left in the darkness of the interior.

DSC_0635_zpsqomqf3i0.jpg

The engine. I've added spark plug leads from fishing line and wrapped the intake pipes in Tamiya tape. The rest of the engine will be hidden, so I've left that in basic paint. The radiator pipe on top has received a light wash, but will be finished at the end of the build.

DSC_0633_zpssbldb2vt.jpg

The rest of the cockpit:

First the observer's seat. I noticed that I've left the handle of the pump in the base colour. Will fix that later.

IMG_0968_zpsxhhojmgv.jpg

The pilot's seat. There was a lever missing on sprue A (no.53). You can see the unused slot under the steering wheel. Will be near invisible when it's all closed up, so I didn't bother fashioning a new one.

I've left the backs of the seats in bare aluminium colour, the cushions are painted with oils.

IMG_0969_zps0jhxgeh7.jpg

• Like 2

Some progress this weekend. I reshaped the join line on the spine and belly a little and attached lower wings and tailplanes. 

The top wings haven't been glued yet, I've just attached them to get the correct placement for the struts.

The attachment tab of the top wings is a little thick and it split one of the joins of the upper fuselage panel... Will have to repair that later.

The radiators have tiny drainage taps on the top and bottom. I hope they survive to the end. ;-)

I'm planning on doing scheme A2. That's von Schleich's bird with the fish-shaped anemometer on the wing (I love how WnW keeps calling it 'fishy' in the manual :-) ), but without the added Lewis over the roll-over hoop.