The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

1/32nd scale B-29 Superfortress

I've been a 'lurker' on this site for a while, and have finally decided to take the plunge and join the forums.

This is a project I have been working on for close to a year now - it's the old ID Models (now Tigger) 1/32nd scale Boeing B-29 Superfortress in glorious 1/32nd scale. 

I am an experienced vacform builder (in fact I don't build much else besides) and have built quite a few challenging vacs over the years. I have battled with Combat Models' 1/32nd scale B-17 and B-24, as well as the ID Models' 1/32nd Lancaster which I built as a tribute to my great uncle who was killed in this aircraft in 1944:

P1000593.jpg

P1000594.jpg

(I wonder if HK Models will release on of these...?  ;) )

After having the opportunity of getting inside the CAF's "Fifi" at the Thunder Over Michigan Airshow in 2012, I decided that was the inspiration I needed to get cracking on what is a monster of a kit:

DSC_1769.jpg

I had been mulling over a choice of colour scheme in which to finish this build, and in the end settled on the "Kee Bird", made famous by the failed recovery attempt from the Greenland ice by Darryl Greenmayer and his team in 1994. Anyone who has seen 'B-29 - Frozen in Time' will know how heart-wrenching this story is, and I just couldn't resist doing my own small tribute to such a wonderful plane.

The colour scheme isn't bad too! (pictures used for illustrative purposes only)

Kee_Bird_flying_in_formation.png

Kee_Bird_The_Day_It_Crashed_-_19_Feb_194

As I'm well into this build, I will post my work retrospectively, and show you the work needed to build a kit such as this. Sadly, vacform modelling seems to be a dying art, but I'm hoping to inspire a few of you on here to give one a go! They're really not that hard, but be prepared to do a fair bit of scratch building along the way...

Stand by for further updates  :)

Tom

• Like 2