The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

1/32 Scratchbuilt B-17 Fortress - update 27th July - painting

Hi guys

my name's Rich, I'm 35 and live in the grim North of the UK

I've been making models for over 30 years on and off.  My old man has been making them for 60 years (ish) and was a founding member of the IPMS back in 1963 (he's also current UK Magazine editor) so I blame him for my fetish.  Whilst he concentrates on fiddly little toys in 1/72, I stick with the true scales of 1/32 and larger

Anyway, I am scratchbuilding a B-17 based on the Combat Models vacform shell - just a fuselage though, on a trailer (also scratchbuilt) , being pulled by a wrecker.  This will be a diorama of a (fictional) aircraft of the 8th AF being towed away to be a 'hangar queen' or to be scrapped, with an interested crowd of personnel, pilots and civilians looking on...

I'm skinning the entire thing in pewter sheet, and getting decals and masks custom made.  My little sister designed the pin up nose art for me.

I'm around 16 months in and approaching the painting stage for the Fortress - I've got a couple of build threads going on other forums, but there are hundreds of pics so I'll cherry pick a few for you - you can see the entire thread here:

http://forum.largescaleplanes.com/index.php?showtopic=38905

I will post more in this thread with my next update, but for now, here's some images:

IMG_2033.jpg

IMG_2068.jpg

IMG_2173.jpg

IMG_2234.jpg

IMG_2315.jpg

IMG_2334.jpg

IMG_2346.jpg

IMG_2680.jpg?t=1343157840

IMG_2747.jpg

IMG_2814.jpg

• Like 2

Fantastic! English is not enough to characterize your work (no offense to the British)

Это великолепие просто невозможно, божественно, шедеврально! Черт возьми, что бы мне так научится делать!!!

Hi Rich,

Welcome to LSM, for starters!