The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Airbrushing Clinic, advice for my first efforts.....

Matt_

OK

I'm just starting out airbrushing and sod's law means my first effort is a Luftwaffe mottled subject - Revell's Bf109G-6, one for the group build off.

First a couple of photos.. gallery of shame... :)

10025842184_eccfc783f8_c.jpg

10026737773_639faec18a_c.jpg

10026789173_0a480a84ac_c.jpg

10026692735_b1b12c22b9_c.jpg

10026806083_6aa9a61097_c.jpg

Tools (which I won't be blaming in any way shape or form)

Iwata HP- C + airbrush 0.3 needle I think.
Revell Omega compresor with a small air tank and water trap etc
paint is Mr Colour Aqueous, thinned with Mr Colour levelling thinner 

Compressor is set a about 15 psi and I have a small inline air valve which I have used to further reduce the pressure. I use the paint flow setting  device at the rear of the brush to keep paint flow at a minimum.

Temperature is around 18 Celsius and not particularly humid.

Using about 66% thinner to 33% paint.

I have committed many of the 'classic' crimes against airbrushing, though managed to steer just clear of the spider effect (none of mine have legs) and in fact I appear to have finessed this to what I'll call the 'polo effect' where the paint in the centre of a mottle is blown to the edges leaving a hole...

Of concern to me (and what can't be seen so well) is that the paint didn't appear to dry as quickly as I expected. I used a cotton glove to handle the thing once painted and even a day later there was still a small degree of tack if I held an area too long... As you can see, there are also areas where the paint is almost gloss... am I not mixing properly?

Finally, does airbrushing create static? Because I've never seen so much dust making a bee line for my paint! I suppose the booth is pulling air in from around me, but crikey.. so much dust... would a tack cloth help?