The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends Aug 31, 2024 ×

My airfix 1/24 spitfire!

1 hour ago, HubertB said:

Maybe I’m wrong (and I am far from a Spitfire expert), but I thought the seat was bakelite (a thermoset plastic, like the one used on the old -fixed- telephones), not plywood.

Hubert

Edgar Brooks describes the seat as plastic.  Not Bakelite.  Just plastic.

• Like 1

Bakelite is, with acetate and celluloid, one of the oldest forms of plastic. Unlike many modern plastics, bakelite is thermoset, i.e. once « cooked » it keeps its shape for ever. Polystyrene for instance is thermo-reversible: it is shaped by being molded at high temperature, but heating it again will melt it and the shape will disappear.

So, bakelite it was ;). Bakelite is mostly black, by the addition of carbon powder (like the old telephone sets), but can be other colors, like white. On the Spitfire, it was a red-brown color.

Hubert

• Like 3

Bakelite was still around when I was a kid in the early 70s - most of the telephones had a bakelite case for example, also the casing of electric plugs and light bulb holders. Had a distinctive fishy smell if it overheated! 🤢 

• Like 1

8 hours ago, GusMac said:

Bakelite was still around when I was a kid in the early 70s - most of the telephones had a bakelite case for example, also the casing of electric plugs and light bulb holders. Had a distinctive fishy smell if it overheated! 🤢 

It’s still used on domestic appliances. Its main interest is that it can withstand (moderate) heat without deformation, unlike most modern polymers. It sets at around 170° C in the molding process (where you press-mold bakelite sheets or powder).

Hubert

• Like 2