The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Scratch build 1/35th 6W AEC Matador refueller

I am seriously considering building this as part of my (eventual) Lancaster dispersal diorama . . . 

Scratch-AEC-Refueller.jpg

I am gathering some pieces before I start and at the mo I am trying to source something that looks like transmission housing etc for the wheel drives.

I'm relatively new to this scratch building despite having done a few other items for this planned diorama, OIL bowser & pneumatic trailer. I know it wont be perfect but it will look something like it should be but rivet counter accurate it wont be. I'll try my best. 

I will be sure to post here once I start 

• Like 7

Thanks gents for pointing a few kits in my direction.

Currently researching this particular AEC vehicle so it will be a while before I start, just finishing a Ford WOT crew bus.

Many thanks Martin for the handbook link, it looks to be very helpful, cheers.

I thought about the AFV kit(s) but there are only 4 wheels and transmission drive to the rear axle whereas I need potential 6/7 wheels and the associated axles and shafts for the two sets of rear axles. Can you obtain spares from AFV I wonder to expand it to a six-wheeler ?? Where are AFV ?

I have built the 35th IBG Bedford QL so the scale isnt that imperative. I have scaled up the Airfix drawing to 32nd and cross reference with some old John Church drawings. As I stated earlier, I am new to this scratch building so would like to attempt it but I hope to find odds and sods that I can utilise. I am on the lookout for a ladder that was used to climb up onto the tank but I think I could build that reasonable well . . . .  

• Like 4

• 2 weeks later...

I opted to purchase these kits in order to obtain a third axle along with the prop shaft and wheel/tyres should i decide to go 35th scale.

I have the AEC 6w refueller plan(s) in both 32nd & 35th scale.