The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends Aug 31, 2024 ×

MRP paint question?

1to1scale

I have a question for anyone that has used these paints to paint large scale, I am needing to order some paint and have questions as to how much coverage per bottle. I am getting ready to start two 1/35 Blackhawks and want to know if one bottle of helo drab will cover both kits? And also need a bottle of black for my F-117, wondering if one bottle will cover that also. My thought is that 30ml should be fine, but I have limited experience with MRP other than small parts.

• Like 2

Guest DannyVM

The question is difficult to answer because all depents which color of primer you used and how thick you spray the paint on your model. Also, different colors need all different sort's of layer to get a good coverage.

I was playing with both kits last night, and I could see that there isn’t a lot of surface area on two helos, but that F-117 is huge, I’m guessing it’s about 3 square feet or more of surface area. I think I will need two bottles of black to be sure.

• Like 2

Having used Dk Gull Gray over gray primer on both interiors of the Blackhawks, I realized that this stuff does not go far at all. I used 40% of a fresh full bottle on the the interiors of each kit. However, I have no complaints on the color quality, sprayability, and especially easy clean up. 

2 hours ago, 1to1scale said:

Having used Dk Gull Gray over gray primer on both interiors of the Blackhawks, I realized that this stuff does not go far at all. I used 40% of a fresh full bottle on the the interiors of each kit. However, I have no complaints on the color quality, sprayability, and especially easy clean up. 

What PSI you shooting?

This thing:

sS78wN.jpgUsed 3/4 of a bottle of Richthofen's Red over the white base coat.  Bear in mind I didn't have to paint a lot of areas due to the design.  IIRC, the black took a few coats to reach opacity, over the white base coat.

This thing:  (in 1/48 scale)

96A0PP.jpg