The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

American trucks......my soft spot......

Guest DannyVM

Guest DannyVM

Hi Guy's,

finally, i made myself to buy a American truck. One of my all time favorites. In fact i bought two of them, the other one is coming.:D

Don't ask me why, but i always had an interest into American made trucks, especially those cab-overs. My guess it started when i saw the movie Convoy when i was a little boy. European trucks don't bother me at all, they look toy's compared to these U.S. made monsters, but not only there appearance give me shivers, also there design is just great.

So i got me this one 

jJNDnZUl.jpg

So now i have a few questions, because you have to know, i'm a European noob when it comes to these sort of trucks.

First, the instructions don't mention any type or date when this truck was used. I know, it's a White Freightliner DD or SD (Double Drive or single drive), but there has to be a type of these sort of trucks. Also, the date or better said time-frame when these trucks where use. I know it's not a modern truck, maybe seventy's or eighty's used?? Tirth question, the color scheme of the red one, is this a real used color scheme??

So my questions go's to our fellow U.S. based guy's, they are living in the Walhalla of these U.S. based trucks. Can you guy's help me out with my questions??

regards

Danny

That is clearly 70's vintage.

There is no way to know on the color and markings question, there are/ were a myriad of schemes.

I loved these kits as a kid especially the way you built them from the frame up! Autocar was my favorite rig builder.

Ryan

• Like 4

The truck model is prior to 1977 when the White Motor Company no longer distributed the Freightliner trucks, so my guess would be prior to 1977............ it does look to be one of the LAST  "White" Freight Liners though, after 1977 the name plate no longer carried the 'White" name, rather just Freightliner instead....

• Like 3