The Great LSM Twins Group Build ends July 3, 2024 ×

Hellenic A-7E

So, just something to prove I have actually being doing some building recently and not just commenting on everyone else's. I'm not very good at WIPs as my bench time tends to be sporadic and I'm a crap photographer but anyway here's where we are.

MM0003.jpg.1b2b9198e0535cf0ecec8928271fd842.jpg

Everyone knows the kit and it's faults. I'm correcting some and ignoring some as it'll only be going in my cabinet and no-one else who's likely to see it would even have the foggiest what a SLUF is meant to look like.

In terms of AM, I'm going with the following

Fox Two books A7E/H in Hellenic Service which is great. Some lovely pics and inspiration.

Aires cockpit set for the late A-7E

Zacto correction set for the intake

Videoaviation Mk82s which look stunning. I'm going for the full 'bomb truck' look so I hope I can do them justice.

Eduard Brassin MERs

AMS Resin wheels

Icarus Decals HAF Corsairs set

Eduard cockpit masks

So here's the main components so far

DSCF4448.thumb.JPG.5978b18de5da35e7bf187458e619bb00.JPG

Joined the inner and outer wing halves before joining the upper and lower as every recommends.

DSCF4450.thumb.JPG.0cec22b015ea1e0304c69a2162554977.JPG

Cockpit and seat assembled and painted. The grey wash looks overdone with the flash but isn't so obvious to the naked eye.

DSCF4454.thumb.JPG.03077a1d4fbaa3835232ee9e67612d89.JPG

Zacto intake correction attached for the inner section and filed and sanded back doing my best not to damage the resin. At least the Greek birds have a mid green intake which should help to hide any issues better than the white of the USN aircraft.

DSCF4455.thumb.JPG.80ea3d1ef341573421fc7356ebeec514.JPG

Some of the corrections I've made. These ones are just to have a try at using sheet and rod sytrene to adapt things. Added the ventilation system exhaust and opened up some of the grills on the avionics doors.